This feat of Victorian engineering and ingenuity is the largest surviving waterwheel of its kind in the world. The Lady Isabella as she is also known, served the mine for 70 years and became the Islandís most dramatic tourist attraction. Watch the mighty wheel turn and climb to the top for panoramic views across Glen Mooar Valley. Beyond the wheel take an hour to explore the mine and the trail to the mine ruins to learn more about the lives of the Laxey miners.
The Isle of Man's entertainment history reached a milestone in 2004 with the opening of the newly refurbished Villa Marina and Gardens. Featuring an arena, a breathtaking theatre, intimate concert halls, cinema and a childrenís play area, it's the ultimate entertainment experience.
Steeped in history and tradition the Gaiety Theatre is one of the finest remaining examples of work from the legendary architect, Frank Matcham.
With tours available throughout the summer season, or during the winter by arrangement, this breathtakingly restored Victorian theatre is one of
Address: Gaiety Theatre, Unit 8, Villa Marina Arcade Harris Promenade, Douglas, Isle of Man, IM1 2HJ
Step back in time for a journey you will never forget, experience the grandeur of travelling between Douglas and the south of the Island on a Victorian railway, perfectly frozen in time.
Sit back, relax and enjoy a journey through the beautiful and ever changing Manx countryside thanks to Victorian engineering that has well and truly stood the test of time.
Children will love travelling on the train line especially if they are Thomas the Tank Engine fans. Thomas and the Magic Railroad film was made here on the Isle of Man.
Opened in 1874, this narrow gauge railway still runs with its original locomotives and carriages, through an ever changing landscape, to a choice of destinations in the south of the Island, these include the ancient monastery of Rushen Abbey, the impressive Castle Rushen, the Old House of Keys and the Nautical Museum all within the ancient capital Castletown and within walking distance of the town's station. A really good reason to purchase a Go Explore card. Further down the line there are a number of sheltered, sandy beaches, and the IoM Steam Railway Museum at Port Erin.
The Home of Rest for Old Horses came into being in 1950 when Mrs Mildred Royston and her sister Miss Kermode, became dismayed at the number of perfectly fit, old, working horses being shipped from the Island for a doubtful future. From small beginnings, hard work, dedication and a lean income, the Home progressed until 1955 when a fortunate legacy provided the means to purchase "Bulrhenny" where the Home is now. Of particular concern, were the old tram horses, and today we have "first option" on tram horses as they retire. Since 1950 more than 280 animals have found happy retirement. We presently look after over 50 horses and 8 donkeys. We rely entirely on voluntary contributions and this can be by either a donation of any size or, by adopting one of our residents for which a minimum donation of £10.00 annually will be gratefully accepted but with the cost of feed and care for these horses and donkeys, anyone contributing more than this, will help considerably to meet those needs. A Newsletter will be sent out in the Spring and Autumn along with a photograph of your chosen adoption.